Domestically Dunn

The most important work you and I will ever do will be within the walls of our own homes. -Harold B Lee

A Letter March 2, 2010

Filed under: Jesus Thoughts,Uncategorized — domesticallydunn @ 10:38 am

I sent this letter to a girl this morning, but while writing it, I thought of many girls I knew that would say they struggle with this too.   I have modified a few things to help the initial receiver remain anonymous, but wanted to paste it here just in case any of you needed encouragement as well:

.

I was studying this morning, and had some things that speak to me that I wanted to share with you cause I think they would apply to you too.

I talk to the Lord all the time about the things I feel like I can’t change, patterns that I hate in myself, and things that I think I’m stuck with.  And sometimes I get angry.   I know everyone has wounds, but most of the time I feel discouraged, like mine are beyond repair…  like I have tried for years and years to change and just end up feeling hopeless.

But, God.

This morning doing a word study on “hope” I found these verses:

.

Psalm 42:11

Why are you cast down, O my soul,

and why are you disquieted within me?

HOPE in God;

for I shall yet praise him,

who is the HEALTH of my countenance,

and my God.

.

Mark 2:17

And when Jesus heard it,

he said to them,

“Those who are well have no need of a physician,

but those who are sick.

I came not to call the righteous,

but sinners.”

.

And finally this one:

.

Psalm 147:3

He heals the brokenhearted,

and binds up their wounds.

.

These are the translations for those words:

.

heals: to heal, make healthful; also to sew together, mend

broken: to break, rend violently, wreck, crush, maimed, crippled, shattered

heart: inner man, mind, will, heart, understanding, soul, reflection, memory, conscience, a seat of emotions, passions, courage

bind up: to bind up ;)

wounds: pain, hurt, injury, sorrow, wound, also translated: he binds up their pains, “the wounds of their minds”

.

I feel like God used this verse to remind me there is hope in him. That my “shattered, crushed, and maimed” mind and sorrows can be healed. That there will still be scars just like any wound, but that he is the Master Physician and I NEED him every day.

I know you go through alot in your lives everyday too. I hope this bit from God’s word can encourage you that he is and always will be working in us to make us WHOLE.  That he wants us to experience health.  That  the things we have gone through can be used to bind us to him.  I know this is simple stuff for those of you who do in-depth Bible study all the time, but sometimes it is the simple things I need to be reminded of.

 

3 Responses to “A Letter”

  1. Heidy Says:

    Ashley, Thanks so much for your post. I so needed that today and your right its the simple things that seem to impact me the most. I just happened to trip across your post and am so glad I did. Your doing a great thing here. God is using you greatly! Thanks again. Heidy

  2. The verses you shared are wonderfully encouraging!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.