Domestically Dunn

The most important work you and I will ever do will be within the walls of our own homes. -Harold B Lee

Let’s Dance September 24, 2009

Filed under: Motherhood,Uncategorized — domesticallydunn @ 10:30 am

1561942732_ff94b31f35

I learn so much from my children about how life is supposed to be when we are uninhibited by our insecurities.

.

Sunday morning we arrived early enough at church to listen the the worship team practice.  The music was loud and besides the band and two others, we were the only ones in the room.  I watched in amazement as my eight month old baby girl began bopping along to the music.  No one prompted her to do this.  She just did it naturally.

.

Soon after, my two year old son started nodding his head, followed by his shoulders, until his whole body was groovin.

.

The music… it does something to them.

.

It is supposed to.

.

It was created to.

.

And I realize that it does something to me too, it just doesn’t come out as easily.  I am older, more reserved, and easily embarrassed.  On top of that I have NO rythym!  But I’m dancing inside.  That counts, right?

.

Watching my kids dance like maniacs is one of my favorite things of all time.  In moments like these I am thankful for music, for what it does for my soul, and for the great times I have enjoying it with my children. Most importantly I am grateful that God created it as a natural, freedom filled way to worship Him.

.

I am reminded of where Jesus says, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”  (Matt 18:3)

.

Looks like I might need to take some dancing lessons from my kids.  🙂


 

One Response to “Let’s Dance”

  1. Candice Says:

    I can manage this…I’m definatley a big kid!


Leave a Reply

