Domestically Dunn

The most important work you and I will ever do will be within the walls of our own homes. -Harold B Lee

On A Personal Note… October 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — domesticallydunn @ 10:48 pm
Tags: , ,

I am blessed to be a part of a church with so many young people!  Currently, our main location is across the street from the University of Cincinnati.  Needless to say, we have lots of college folk at The Bridge, and I love it!

.

I have asked the college girls many times what I can share with them from my life.  I am not much older than most of them, but I do have more life experiences to draw from at this point.  My sweet hubs and I were married when I was 19, and we had our first child 2 1/2 years ago.  We have spent almost all our 7 years of marraige in the ministry.

.

Titus 2 talks about the older women of the church body teaching the younger women many things. As a young pastor’s wife (at times being the youngest woman in our church), I have struggled to figure out just what I could invest in the ladies in my church, or what was expected of me.  I have finally come to the place where I realize  I am who God created me to be, with the gifts and talents he designed.  I am not a women’s ministry director, or a piano player (lol), or a singer, or any of the prototypical “Pastor’s Wife” defintions.  I am a wife to my husband, a mom to two incredible kids, and a servant of my Lord.  I am enjoying just being those things for the time being, and feel God teaching and changing me through those roles.  Maybe someday I might lead a women’s ministry, or teach a Bible study, but today is not that day.

.

Instead, my day is many times filled with mindless repetitive tasks, laundry, cooking, dishes, diapers, and toys. Much different from the life of a college student!  Although most of the girls at my church are not in the same season of life, I am discovering there are still things I can teach them!

.

Some things they have asked me is how I shop, cook, and handle my coupons/budget.   On the surface these things don’t seem really “spiritual”, but these skills allow my hubs and I to be better stewards of the money God has given us, and allows me to be home taking care of and teaching my children every day. This is something I believe God has called me to do and what I want to be doing more than anything in the world.

/

I have started this blog as a way to help others, specifically college girls, young wives, and young moms, to catch a glimpse of what a stay at home mom/wife’s life looks like.   My mom was not able to stay home with us, so I am learning as I go – just as many women my age are.  I am realizing that developing these skills is not easy and takes time.  Although it is extremely fulfilling, it can be exhausting and even sometimes discouraging. That is why I hope this blog can be a place of encouragement, ideas, tips, some laughs, but also a place that challenges you to be all that God created you to be, whatever your role is in this season of life.

.

***I would love your input on what you would like to see on Domestically Dunn.  Please leave any suggestions in the comments section or feel free to email me!

.

Don’t miss a post!  Keep updated by subscribing to my feed here, or read my directions on how to subscribe on Google Reader here!

 

3 Responses to “On A Personal Note…”

  1. Jess Stock Says:

    Ashley, you are wise to know yourself and how God has made you, and to do with all of your heart those things that He has called you to . . . I am (trying) to learn that everything we do, when done with a pure heart as unto the Lord, is “spiritual,” and being who God made us is exactly the ministry we are called to . . . I know many people are being blessed by you and learning from you, in ways that you don’t even realize!

  2. Amanda Browning Says:

    Hi Ashley,

    Thanks so much for sharing all this info with us! Even though I don’t see you on a week to week basis anymore =( I have learned so much from you!!! Thanks so much for sharing. You are awesome!

    Love,

    Amanda

  3. Traci Says:

    These are the years that mold you into the wise old lady that you are going to be. 😉

    Your blog is so…. YOU … I love it! (but some of those “related posts” have GOT TO GO) 🙂


Leave a Reply

