Domestically Dunn

The most important work you and I will ever do will be within the walls of our own homes. -Harold B Lee

Finally Better! November 6, 2009

Filed under: Healthy Living — domesticallydunn @ 11:06 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

vegetales

So our whole family has fully recovered from the supposed “H1N1”, although we will never be positive it was that since all viruses right now are labeled “Swine Flu”.  It doesn’t really matter to me what it was, just that we are all healthy again!

Like I said in this post, this illness has encouraged me to make a more concerted effort regarding our family’s nutrition.  We have cut out most simple sugars and are eating lots of fruits, veggies, proteins, and whole grains with every meal.  Some of my kids new favorite’s are avocado, green and red bell peppers, onions, squash, zucchini, fresh spinach, lentils, beans, hummus, and I even got Lovebug to love feta cheese!

We have been doing this for a little over a week.  I think the only simple sugar Lovebug has eaten has been one piece of Halloween candy a few different nights.  The most interesting thing about this whole process is that it has not been nearly as difficult for the kids as I imagined.  Lulu loves the veggies and beans, and after Lovebug finally tries them, he likes them too!

It has had a major impact on our family life.  Lovebug is way more even keel, and doesn’t whine nearly as often. He has always been a good boy, but has had some major meltdown moments.  Since we have started this, he has seemed more cooperative and less rowdy.

This was confirmed to me today when we met my mom for lunch in Indy.  We at at Texas Roadhouse, and I let him eat basically whatever he wanted.  He had rolls with cinnamon butter, chicken fingers, fries, and a few pieces of broccoli.  Afterwards we took a stroll in the mall where he began to feel his sugar high.  In the car on the way home he became very argumentative, whiny, and finally had a meltdown.  This was not the same boy I had been with all week.

In fact, I also am feeling so gross.  I had a white roll and grilled chicken salad (complete with dressing that I am sure was filled with sugar) for lunch,  a few sips of a Soy Chai Latte, and a sugar free Vanilla Latte on the way back.  Since we were late getting home, we ordered Barbecue Chicken Pizza: white flour and sugar filled barbecue sauce, balanced  with a salad with vinegar and oil. Needless to say I had a energy filled sugar buzz, and now i just feel… bad.

I guess I can look at it as a kind of experiment.  And I really hope that I don’t decide to conduct the same experiment again!

There is an additional bonus to this new way of life:  I lost 5 lbs in a little over a week!  Finally back to pre-preggo clothes!  Woohoo!

 

2 Responses to “Finally Better!”

  1. Betsy Says:

    very interesting. my son has been whiny lately and also eating more candy since halloween. i might have to check into this. glad you all are feeling better.

  2. kristy Says:

    how did you serve your little ones the peppers?…..just curious.


Leave a Reply

