Domestically Dunn

The most important work you and I will ever do will be within the walls of our own homes. -Harold B Lee

Lemonade For Africa And Our Reason Behind September 7, 2011

Filed under: Jesus Thoughts,Uncategorized — domesticallydunn @ 4:31 pm
.

Umi, who is three-months-old, is examined by a nurse at a Save the Children outreach site in Kenya. Weighing just 3.7lbs, Umi was referred to the district hospital. Her mother, Amina, says her two other children are malnourished because the drought caused the death of the family's livestock, which subsequently led to a lack of milk. Photograph: Per-Anders Pettersson/Save the Children

There is a famine in Africa right now.  A severe drought, the worst in 60 years, has affected the water and food supply of nearly 12 million people.  You probably have heard this already- if not you can watch it here.  In response to this crisis, our family had an idea to set up a lemonade stand to raise money.  Our hope is that others will join us in a group effort to bring some relief.  We will be doing this the weekend of Sept 16-18th, and would love for YOU to join us by having your own stand for a few hours, helping another stand, spreading the word, or by donating to the effort at World Vision’s “Famine No More“.  All of our proceeds will go to this amazing ministry as well.
.
Why are we doing this?
.
*Disclaimer:  I know I have many friends who are not Jesus followers.  I just need to say to you that my life centers on my faith, and for me everything flows from that. These are my reasons; I would like to share them with you, and I would love to hear yours as well.
.
This idea began taking root quite a while ago.  We had just moved to our new home, it was naptime, and I was scrolling through my blogs.  I saw this.   As I was watching, my munchkins came down from nap.  We all sat and watched together, looking at all the pictures with my heart breaking further open with each one.
.
I explained to my sweet babies as I held their healthy bodies on my lap, that the rains just hadn’t come, and these people had little to no food or water.   Expecting them to be shocked, I asked them what we should do.  They didn’t seem surprised and my son said very matter of factly, “We should send them some of ours.”
.
What?  Well, yes, of course, but that’s it?  Isn’t your heart breaking? ~  These were my thoughts.
.
But to my son, this huge problem had an answer… it could be fixed.  It was very obvious… we have plenty… they don’t … so we share.  Period.
.
Why has it become so complicated for us?  Why do we get overwhelmed with our feelings and lose sight of the simplicity of the answer:  Someone is in need, so we help.  Someone is hurting, so we comfort.  Someone is hungry, so we give.
.
Don’t get me wrong, I think God uses our feelings to motivate us to action.  But somehow in the middle of all the heartbreak, the problem seems too big, too complicated- like what we have to offer won’t make any difference.
Like anyone would do, we decided to make a donation here,  but even weeks later, my heart was still being tugged.  The idea had popped into my mind to do something like a lemonade stand, getting the kids involved, but it seemed almost silly to me. I mean, how much did anyone ever make at a lemonade stand?  How would that help?
.
Weeks later I am spending time in the Psalms.  I had still been thinking about and praying for Africa, and begging God to send the rain.  Throughout the psalms, He reminds us that the earth is full of His goodness.  I knew that I see it all around me, but was wondering if those people in Africa see it.  And I get to this verse:
.
“Blessed is the one who considers the poor…” Psm 41:1
or
“Happy is the one who gives attention to the poor…”
.
I think on this for quite awhile because it almost seems like a self-serving verse to me.  Another item to add to my to do list.   I want to be be happy so I _____ (fill in the blank as long as it has to do with the poor).  I didn’t think I understood it quite right, so I kept thinking and thinking until…
.
 It finally sinks in.
.
This is the blessing the psalmist talks about…. God allowing US the opportunity to be like Himinviting, even commanding us to show his goodness to a poor, needy, broken world.    Isn’t it His goodness that draws people to Him?  And isn’t it his goodness that leads us to repentance?  So the beginning of faith is all the result of the Goodness of God.  And I get to be a part of that for someone else!  THIS is why the psalmist said “Blessed is the one who considers the poor:   We are happy when we are doing the very work of God.
.
So we see a need,  this great need in Africa, and we respond.  Just like Jesus did when he saw us.  It’s not very complicated, is it?  I think my son had it right.   Maybe,  just maybe, He wants to use us to show his goodness to the hurting in Africa.  It’s a humbling thought.
.
I know there is no significant thing about a lemonade stand. It is just a simple way our family can raise a little money to feed some hungry souls.  But the significant thing is everyone joining together at the opportunity to be a part of something bigger than us,  something eternal:  to be a part of showing Jesus’ love to others.
.
I don’t have a goal for this event… I am only hoping and praying the Lord will bless it and multiply our small effort like He did with the small gift of the young boy.  With his five loaves and two fishes, Jesus fed five thousand.    I am wondering how many he can feed with the money from a few pitchers of lemonade?
.
Would YOU consider joining us?
.
.
*****
There are multiple ways you can get involved!
.
1. The first is spread the word!  You never know how many of your friends and family would want to help out!  Also this could be a great opportunity to get your church’s kids and youth ministry involved.   There is a Facebook event page here where you can invite your Facebook friends and others through email.
.
2.  Set up a lemonade stand!  Get some cardboard, markers, and lemons and get to it!  Please RSVP on the Facebook event page and let us know where you will be having it!  (City and state please!)  Make sure to invite your friends, family, and neighbors to stop by!  You can donate your proceeds to World Vision’s Famine NO More here.
.
3.  Pray, pray, pray.  Please pray that God would have mercy and send the rain to East Africa.  Please also pray that He will bless and multiply the efforts of people all across the world who are contributing to helping the hungry.   Pray that He would enable us to show his love in this way.
.
**If you are a blogger, would you please consider spreading the word by writing a blog post and linking to this post or to the Facebook event page.  What an easy way to reach thousands of people!
.
Thank you to all who have helped and will be helping in this great effort!
.
With Hope,
.

 

Leave a Reply

